Twitter: thecityplanter

Growing from seed: sowing kit

by Drucilla James

Beech dibber crocus px

Beech Dibber £5.99 from Crocus, http://www.crocus.co.uk/

Scoops, sporks, sprakes, swoes and wrotters – gardening has a language all of its own when it comes to describing the tools of the trade. Here are some suggested seed-sowing tools, from dibbers to twine dollies, to make the growing easier this spring.

Dibbers, widgers and tampers

Tampers and dibbers_edited-3 px

  1. Ash wood garden dibber £24.50 from Manufactum http://www.manufactum.co.uk/
  2. Stainless steel planting dibber £14.95 from Greenhouse Sensation http://www.greenhousesensation.co.uk/
  3. Round pot tamper £6.95 from Burgon & Ball, http://burgonandball.com/
  4. Seed sowing square tamper £6.95 from Greenhouse Sensation, http://www.greenhousesensation.co.uk   
  5. Widger, dibber and label set £1.99 from Bents Garden &  Home, http://www.bents.co.uk/
  6. Burgon & Ball widger  £9.99 from Garden Divas, http://www.gardendivas.co.uk/

Sowing

seed supporters_edited-3 px

  1. Seed shaker £8.95 from Sarah Raven http://www.sarahraven.com/
  2. Seed sowing hopper £27 from Greenhouse Sensation, http://www.greenhousesensation.co.uk   
  3. Harvest seed storage tin £50 from Clare Loves, http://www.clareloves.co.uk
  4. Wooden seed box £30 from Manufactum, http://www.manufactum.co.uk/
  5. Wooden seed tray set £11.95 from Burgon & Ball, http://burgonandball.com/
  6. Original roottrainer set £9.95 from Sarah Raven, http://www.sarahraven.com/
  7. Pro-seeder for sowing £15.95 from Thompson & Morgan, http://www.thompson-morgan.com/

Potting up and potting on

potting on_edited-1 px

  1. Elho green basic grow pot £3.99 from Bents Garden &  Home, http://www.bents.co.uk/
  2. Bell boys, set of six, £15.99 from Thompson & Morgan, http://www.thompson-morgan.com/
  3. Pot brush £10.99 from Crocus, http://www.crocus.co.uk/
  4. Stainless compost scoop £12.95 from Burgon & Ball, http://burgonandball.com/
  5. Hand shovel £11.50 from Manufactum http://www.manufactum.co.uk/
  6. Transplanter £9.95 from Greenhouse Sensation, http://www.greenhousesensation.co.uk   
  7. Ladies potting sieve £16.95 from Annabel James http://www.annabeljames.co.uk
  8. Ladies compost scoop £16.95 from Annabel James http://www.annabeljames.co.uk
  9. Ash-handled potting trowel £30 from Burford, http://www.burford.co.uk/

Labelling up and marking out

mark it and label it_edited-4 px

  1. The sharpening stone by Kennebec Forge £123 from Bouf, http://www.bouf.com/
  2. Garden twine dispenser by Country Garden Gifts £9.99 from notonthehighstreet, http://www.notonthehighstreet.com/
  3. Bakers twine dolly by Stitchkits £12.50 from notonthehighstreet, http://www.notonthehighstreet.com/
  4. Twine and dibber set by Garden & Home £18.99 from Bouf, http://www.bouf.com/
  5. Galvanised steel nameplates set of 5 £10.50 from Manufactum http://www.manufactum.co.uk/
  6. Plant label for the ground £9.59 from Garden Beet, http://www.gardenbeet.com/
  7. Veggie Stikks garden labels £8.95 from Garden Divas, http://www.gardendivas.co.uk/
  8. 5 slate nameplates £12.50 from Manufactum http://www.manufactum.co.uk/

Watering and then sitting back

Water it and rest_edited-1

  1. Orla Kiely watering can £39.99 from urbancuckoo.co.uk, http://www.urbancuckoo.co.uk
  2. Keira watering can by Klara 2 litre £9.99 available through Amazon or RHS Garden Wisley
  3. Juliette wheelbarrow garden seat £895 from Bouf, http://www.bouf.com/

Leave a Reply