Twitter: thecityplanter

Gardening for kids: tools, kits, furniture and fun for outdoors

by Drucilla James

header

credit: Asda

Tempt the kids into the great outdoors by giving them a bit of garden to call their own. Tools and kits make growing fun and easy and it won’t be long before there’ll be all sorts of flowers, food and wildlife to enjoy. And when it’s time for something a little different, outdoor furniture and games will create a perfect place to play, out in the fresh air.

Tools

Garden jobs can’t fail to be fun with these funky tools.

tools

  1. Child’s gardening apron, £6.99 from The Chelsea Gardener, www.chelseagardener.com
  2. Children’s natural wooden trug, £9.95 from Burgon & Ball, www.burgonandball.com
  3. Yeominis telescopic hoe, £7, telescopic rake, £5, and telescopic lawn rake, £5, for children aged 3-7 years from Tesco Direct, www.tesco.com/direct
  4. My First Fiskars box set with four colourful garden tools, £34.99 from garden centres throughout the UK, www.fiskars.co.uk
  5. Children’s garden buckets for age 3+, £5.50 each from Kindle House, www.kindlehouse.co.uk
  6. B&Q kids hedgehog gloves, £2.98 from B&Q, www.diy.com
  7. Children’s hand trowel and fork, £7.95 each from Burgon & Ball, www.burgonandball.com
  8. Very Hungry Caterpillar children’s watering can, £12.50 from Garden Divas,  www.gardendivas.co.uk
  9. Seedlets tool bag, £5.99 from The Handpicked Collection, www.handpickedcollection.com
  10. Kids’ broom, £8.95 and children’s green spade, £7.95 from Little Pals, www.littlepals.co.uk
  11. Watering can for ages 3-12, £9.99 from Mulberry Bush, www.mulberrybush.co.uk
  12. Dig! by Lucy Neale with removable shovel, £5.99 from RHS Books and Gifts, www.rhsshop.co.uk
  13. Outdoor children’s veg table for children age 3+, £150 from the Eden Project Shop, www.edenproject.com

Planting Kits

There’s nothing more exciting than planting seeds and watching them grow – try these kits and planters developed specially for younger gardeners.

Planting_Kits

  1. Seed bombs (pack of 3) by Suck UK, £11.95 from What You Sow, www.whatyousow.co.uk
  2. Little Eden Sunflower Race  for children age 3+, £12 from Marks & Spencer, www.marksandspencer.com
  3. Healthy Caterpillar Grow Kit by Plant Theatre £18.50, from notonthehighstreet.com, www.notonthehighstreet.com
  4. Hug pots for planting, £16.99 from Potty Innovations, www.pottyinnovations.co.uk
  5. Grow & Eat Like a Viking seed kit (also available in Tudor and Victorian versions), £2.77 from What You Sow, www.whatyousow.co.uk
  6. Nyokki Bear grass hair-growing kit, £8.50 from The Balcony Gardener, www.thebalconygardener.com
  7. Little Garden Angels butterfly-shape hanging basket, £3.98 from B&Q, www.diy.com
  8. Gourd ‘Russian Dolls’ seeds which produce doll-shaped fruits that can be harvested at various sizes, dried and painted with different designs (not edible), £1.59 from Thompson & Morgan, www.thompson-morgan.com
  9. Little Gardeners mini-greenhouse  kit for age 3+, £11.95 from Johnsons, www.johnsons-seeds.com
  10. My First Grow Your Own plant kit suitable for children 5+, £5.99 from John Lewis, www.johnlewis.com
  11. Mr McGregor Gift Set for growing your own vegetable garden, £9 from Hen & Hammock, www.henandhammock.co.uk

Furniture

It’s playtime with this colourful collection!

Furniture

  1. Baby ball chair by XL Boom, £105 from Made in Design, www.madeindesign.co.uk
  2. Julian children’s chair by Magis, £89 from Made in Design, www.madeindesign.co.uk
  3. Outdoor toy bin, £14.95 from The Holding Company, www.theholdingcompany.co.uk
  4. Tyre horse swing, £85 from Idyll Home, www.idyllhome.co.uk
  5. Kids’ table set, £55 from Next, www.next.co.uk
  6. Iri children’s hammock, £44.98 from Toyella, www.toyella.com
  7. ASDA children’s sofa set, with sofa chair, two arm chairs and table, £45 from ASDA Direct, direct.asda.com
  8. Flux junior children’s chair, €59 from flux furniture, www.fluxfurniture.com
  9. Bridget outdoor led fairy lights, £40 from Habitat, www.habitat.co.uk
  10. Garden draughts by Uber Games, £40 from notonthehighstreet.com, www.notonthehighstreet.com
  11. Luxembourg Kid stacking chair by Fermob, £89 from The Worm that Turned, www.worm.co.uk

Wildlife

Help the kids explore the garden and discover the fascination of nature at first hand.

wildlife

  1. Butterfly feeder/house, £29.95  from The Worm that Turned, www.worm.co.uk
  2. Build your own bird feeder, £12.50 from Oliver Bonas, www.oliverbonas.com
  3. Ladybird Tower, £13 from Great Little Trading Co, www.gltc.co.uk
  4. Me and My Birds bird feeding kit, £17.95 from Garden Divas, www.gardendivas.co.uk
  5. Seedbombs for butterflies, £12.99 from RHS Books and Gifts, www.rhsshop.co.uk
  6. Duck bird call, £8 from WhippetGrey, www.whippetgrey.co.uk
  7. Watch the Flutterbye butterfly feeder, £12 from Great Little Trading Co, www.gltc.co.uk
  8. Creature Peeper bug-friendly viewer, £7 from the Natural History Museum, www.nhmshop.co.uk

Leave a Reply