Twitter: thecityplanter

Bonfire party to harvest feasts: celebrate outdoors this autumn

by Lisa Ommanney

autumn_garden

credit: Rampant.Gaffer

Glowing pumpkins, hot soup, the whiff of gunpowder – you can’t beat the atmophere of an autumnal party in the great outdoors. And from Halloween to harvest, Diwali to Bonfire Night, there’s no shortage of reasons to get outside and celebrate.

Whether you’re throwing a Day of the Dead party or having a scream on Halloween, keep it spooky with this range of eerie adornments…

  1. Haunted House bird box made from sustainable redwood pine, £55 from Lindleywood, www.lindleywood.co.uk
  2. Halloween balloons (pack of six), £2.50 from Pipii, www.pipii.co.uk
  3. Spider’s web lantern candle holder, £8  from John Lewis, www.johnlewis.com
  4. Halloween clothes pegs (seven per pack), £7.15 from Mollycupcakes, www.notonthehighstreet.com/mollycupcakes
  5. EcoFly pumpkin lantern, now £0.99 from Sports Direct, www.sportsdirect.com
  6. Homespun spider on a string, £7.50 from Olde Glory, www.oldeglory.co.uk
  7. Glow in the dark trick or treat bucket, £2.50 from Marks & Spencer, www.marksandspencer.com
  8. Halloween glow-in-the-dark bunting (5m), £29.99 from Zigzag Bunting, www.zigzagbunting.com

Banish the darkness with flaming torches and glowing lanterns.

  1. Cairo oil lamp, £39.95 from www.oil-lamp.co.uk
  2. Fire torches (pack of three), £6.50 from Pipii, www.pipii.co.uk
  3. Rusty Moroccan lantern, £89.95 from Nordic House, www.nordichouse.co.uk
  4. Light House lantern, £80 from Normann Copenhagen, www.normann-copenhagen.com
  5. Hanging glass tealight holder, £10.95 from Telling Tales, www.tellingtales.co.uk
  6. Outdoor pine torch, £9.50 from Hen & Hammock, www.henandhammock.co.uk
  7. Rust-effect garden glass light, £9.95 from The Balcony Gardener, www.thebalconygardener.com
  8. Contemporary copper oil lamps, £69.95 each from Nordic House, www.nordichouse.co.uk

Keep out the autumn chills with this comfortingly cosy collection.

  1. Colorado contemporary chimenea, £119.99 from Posh Garden Furniture, www.poshgardenfurniture.co.uk
  2. Fjallanas blanket by Lotta Glave for Northlight, £133 from SCP, www.scp.co.uk
  3. Mug cosy (mug included), £9.50 from Fab Brick, www.notonthehighstreet.com/fabbrick
  4. Wrist warmers, £25.50 from Yummy Knits, www.notonthehighstreet.com/yummyknits
  5. Fire bowl made from recycled oil drums, from £180 from Kadai Fire Bowls, www.kadai.co.uk
  6. Cinnamon-scented kindle cones (bag of 12) £12.75 from Hunter Gatherer,   www.huntergatherer.info
  7. Normann Copenhagen Geo thermos flask, £59 from Heal’s, www.heals.co.uk
  8. Patio fire basket brazier, currently £19.99 from Greenfingers www.greenfingers.com

Really savour the season’s flavours by cooking, eating and drinking outdoors.

 

  1. Cooking tripod and Dutch oven pot, £45 from Green Rabbit, www.notonthehighstreet.com/greenrabbit
  2. Hand-forged chestnut roaster, £39 from Moore Designs, www.mooredesigns.co.uk
  3. Camembert roaster for cooking boxed cheeses on an open fire, £58 from Moore Designs, www.mooredesigns.co.uk
  4. Bonfire pancake pan, £24.50 from the Eden Project, www.edenproject.com
  5. Mulled cider jug, bottle of cider and sachet of spices, £14 from John Lewis, www.johnlewis.com
  6. ‘Fill your own’ herbal teabags (pack of 60), £3.95 from Burgon & Ball,   www.burgonandball.com
  7. Heart-handled toasting fork, £25 from Flax & Finch, www.flaxandfinch.com
  8. Hot chocolate spoons for stirring through hot milk (set of 3), £4.50 from Madame Oiseau, www.madame-oiseau.com
  9. Pine cone bottle stopper, £10 from The Estate Yard, www.notonthehighstreet.com/theestateyard

Leave a Reply